Bed and Breakfast and Self Catering in
Activities in Dublin, IrelandBed and Breakfast and Self Catering Accommodation in Dublin, Ireland

Getting around Dublin

Arrival at the Airport

There are taxis and buses from the Airport to downtown Dublin

Buses are plentiful and you can get a No 90 bus from Busarus which is the central bus station to the city centre.

As most of the sights are in the city centre walking is the best method of transport

Sights of Dublin

TThe Guinness Storehousehe Guinness Storehouse

Guinness Storehouse is Ireland’s No. 1 visitor attraction.

A visit to the home of Guinness is the high point of any trip to Dublin. At the Guinness Storehouse you'll discover all there is to know about the world famous beer.

It's a dramatic story that begins over 250 years ago and ends in Gravity, the sky bar, with a complimentary pint of Guinness and an astonishing view of Dublin City!

A fermentation plant at St. James’s Gate Brewery has been transformed into a place where you can experience one of the world’s best known brands in a totally unexpected way.

It’s the Home, Heart & Soul of Guinness

Opening hours

Opening hours

9.30am to 5pm

July and August we are open from 9.30 am to 8pm

Admission Fees - All prices in Euro

Adult
14.00
Family (2 adults, 4 children*)
30.00
Student with ID over 18
9.50
Student with ID under 18
7.50
Senior Citizens
9.50
Children between 6 and 12
5.00
Children under 6
FREE
Standard group of 15
13.00 per person
 
*Applies to children under 18

(Complimentary Pint with Adult Admission)

Guinness StorehouseGetting Here

Buses 51B and 78A (from Aston Quay) and 123 (from O'Connell Street).

Contact

GUINNESS® STOREHOUSE
St James’s Gate, Dublin 8

For recorded information: Tel +353 (1) 453 8364
To contact our customer service team call:
Tel: +353 (1) 408 4800
Fax: +353 (1) 408 4965

E-mail us at : guinness-storehouse@guinness.com
Web: http://www.guinness-storehouse.com

Trinity College

The University of Dublin, founded in 1592 by Queen Elizabeth 1 is the oldest university in Ireland. Trinity College is the sole constituent college of the University. At present there are over 12,000 students and 1,200 staff members working on the College campus.

Standing on a self-contained site in the heart of Dublin, the College covers some 40 acres of cobbled squares and green spaces, around buildings which represent the accumulated architectural riches of nearly three centuries. Its thirteen and a half thousand staff and students form a compact academic community and are at the same time an intimate part of the city's life. Dublin offers a particularly congenial atmosphere for students and while small by international standards, it has in all respects the resources of a capital city with a full and varied cultural and intellectual life.

Trinity College is one of Ireland's leading historical sites attracting in excess of half a million visitors every year. Heritage attractions available to visitors include:

The Book of Kells

The Book of Kells is a 9th Century manuscript of the Gospels, renowned world-wide for its rich and varied illustrations. It is on display in the Old Library in Trinity College. The current exhibition in the Colonnades, The Book of Kells. Picturing the Word places this national treasure in its historical and cultural context. The Old Library is open 7 days a week. Admission from 9.30- 17.00 Monday to Saturday,9.30 to 16.30 on Sunday (June-September) and 12.30-16.30 on Sundays (October-May).

Now a well established attraction in Dublin, the Dublin Experience is a major multimedia show which relates the history of Irelands' Capital city through the most modern mediums available. A dramatic script, stunning photography and evocative music combine to give visitors and Dubliner's alike an unsurpassed introduction to the city. The Dublin Experience operates from mid May until the end of September, 7 days a week with shows on the hour every hour 10 am. to 5 pm.

Walking Tours of the Campus

Escorted by students, these walking tours around the College Campus will provide any visitor with an account of Trinity's past, a history of the Campus buildings, and interesting anecdotes about its most famous graduates. The tours run from mid-April until early October from inside the Front Gate of the College.

Tours commence every 40 minutes from 10.15am - there are generally 9 tours in any one day.

The National Gallery

Featuring most of the work of most of the top Irish artists,this gallery has Ireland's best collection of European masters and is well worth a visit.
Entry is free of charge Opening times Mon-Sat 09.30 -17.30 Thurs until 20.30, Sunday 13.00 - 17.00 Merrion Square West

Christ Church Cathedral

Standing on high ground in the oldest part of the city, this cathedral is one of Dublin's finest historic buildings. It dates from 1038, when Sitric, Danish king of Dublin, built the first wooden Christ Church here. In 1171, the original simple foundation was extended into a cruciform and rebuilt in stone by Strongbow. The present structure dates mainly from 1871 to 1878, when a huge restoration took place. Highlights of the interior include magnificent stonework and graceful pointed arches, with delicately chiseled supporting columns. This is the mother church for the diocese of Dublin and Glendalough of the Church of Ireland. The new Treasury in the crypt is now open to the public, and you can hear new bells pealing in the belfry.

OPENING TIMES FOR VISITORS
09.45 - 17.00Monday - Friday
10.00 - 17.00Saturday and Sunday
Open every day except St Stephen's day (26 December) (During services access to the entire cathedral is limited) REQUESTED DONATION:
€3 (ADULT) / €1.50 (UNWAGED)
PARENT ACCOMPANIED CHILDREN FREE

Grafton Street

Grafton Street is near Trinity College and is a pedestrian shopping street where you will hear street musicians play and also street theatre . Fashionable stores like Brown Thomas abound and take your time and have a coffee and watch the world go by. At the top of the street near St Stephen's Green there is the St Stephen's Green shopping centre which is enclosed by glass. Explore the side streets of Grafton street and you will come across many interesting shops especially in the Powerscourt Townhouse centre.

St Stephen's Green

This city park,originally a medieval commons was enclosed in 1664 and was gradually surrounded by fine Georgian buildings. There are 22 acres of solitude in the heart of the city.

Dublin Castle

Dublin Castle is more of a palace than a castle and is currently used to entertain heads of state. It was originally built on the orders of King John in 1204 and has enjoyed a somewhat quiet history. Silken Thomas Fitzgerald laid siege in 1534, a fire destroyed much of the castle in 1684, and the events of the 1916 Easter Rising. It was lightly defended in 1916 and probably would have fallen if the insurrectionists only realized how light the opposition was they faced. The castle was used as the official residence of the British viceroys of Ireland, until the Vice Regal Lodge was built in the Phoenix Park. Earlier it had been used as a prison. Red Hugh O' Donnell, one of the last of the great Gaelic leaders, escaped from the Record Tower in 1591, was recaptured, and escaped again in 1592.

Merrion Square

Laid out in 1762, the square is ringed by elegant Georgian houses decorated with fine doors. Merrion Square is one of Dublin's largest and grandest Georgian squares. On three sides are Georgian Houses and on the other side the garden of Leinster House, and two museums.

     (c) StayInIreland.com